2nd Annual Awards Honor HPC Contributions in India

Last month, Cray and Intel presented the 2018 Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam HPC Awards in Bengaluru, India. Dr. Kalam, a world-renowned space scientist, was the president of India from 2002 to 2007.

The jury panel for the awards consisted of eminent scientists and was chaired by Professor N. Balakrishnan, former associate director of the Indian Institute of Science in Bengaluru.

The 2018 awards recipients were:

Professor Rajiv Gavai, in the Researcher category, for his contributions to lattice quantum chromodynamics at finite temperature and density/high-energy physics.

Professor Mahendra Kumar Verma, in the Researcher category, for his contributions in developing the open-source code TARANG and using it for turbulence simulation at extreme scale.

Professor Tanushri Saha Dasgupta, in the Researcher category, for her contributions to HPC in the area of materials modeling and setting up the Thematic Unit of Excellence on Computational Materials Science at the S.N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences.

Professor Raghavan B. Sunoj, in the Researcher category, for his contributions to efficient HPC facility design and management.

Dr. Rupesh Krantikumar Nasre, in the Young Researcher category, for his contributions to scaling parallel graph algorithms.

The awards recognize individuals who contributed in one or more areas related to high-performance computing: R&D in HPC systems (hardware or software), HPC application development, HPC education and efficient facility design and management.

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *